US piracy legislation = Censorship

Wake up, US!  Prevent the return of Bush-era secret dealings, Cold War-era paranoia, AND the McCarthy-era  blacklisting!

I heard about this legislative conversation, that happened yesterday, from a lady who lives in Ireland.  Have not seen it discussed here in the US.  To be fair, I do not haunt news suppliers–too much fear-mongering–so I may have missed this.

BBC News – Google, Facebook warn against new US piracy legislation.

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 10:38:50

    Why am I not surprised it was a Texas Politician that introduced this bill…… unbelievable…… And how much do you suppose he has gotten in campaign contributions from the movie and recording industry? I hope common sense prevails and this bill dies a quick death.

    Reply

  2. heretherebespiders
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 11:32:29

    Hee, I see you got busted with a location error! :)
    I posted this to FB and am getting very little reaction. I’m baffled. Usually my dad, at least, would be shouting about it. Hmm.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 17, 2011 @ 14:03:11

      busted myself! so many lovely, smart cat women and I remembered wrong. whew! (Did I get busted elsewhere?! I deserved it. Fact-checking is in my blood and I screwed up!)

      it’s so tough to get a rise out of us–we’re worn out from all the wiretapping, eavesdropping satellites, and credit checks when ya just wanna get a phone number.

      Good on you for posting it to FB. Of course, today the Occupy Somewhere is having a call for mass occupations…. If only they would have a goal of some sort…. ah well….

      Reply

  3. minlit
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 00:03:57

    Ah, London, Ireland, sure it’s all the same. And once they get this bill through, all remaining knowledge of the outside world will finally be lost to the US for EVAHHHH.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 08:54:18

      No! I’m not one of those Americans where everyone else is an amorphous blob of look-alikes! waaaaaaaaah! Did Spiders tell on me?!

      A lot of the US couldn’t place London or Dublin or Cape Town, and it doesn’t, and won’t, matter because the US is the center of the Universe AND we have God on our side.

      (gnashing teeth–why do I live HERE?! Oh right, yeah, husband and aging Mum.)

      Reply

  4. minlit
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 08:57:20

    I am only teasing you! Trust me, there are plenty of dunderheads everywhere else too, it’s just we don’t allow them out much. ;)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 09:14:46

      I knew you were teasing, but my last nerve got pinged about the idiocy of ignoramasses (read that a couple of ways!). I’m in a moment of wishing all the idiots here in the US would get together next to the San Andreas fault and be looking into the chasm just as a gale-force wind throws them all in. Maybe they’ll land in fire and go away. Your dunderheads don’t have nukes. I’m just sayin’ … sigh…

      If I could give a gift to the Universe, it would be to help people think critically.

      Crap, I should NOT have been reading the news online this morning. See what happens? And you’re such a lovely lady!

      I will go do Art right now and get out of this moment!

      Reply

  5. heretherebespiders
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 09:22:56

    No, I saw London in my email notification and when I got here, it said Ireland :)

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

