If the sleep mechanism is essential, why is it a delicate flower?

Sleep is rest for a busy organism, it promotes the healing of owies collected during a day, physical and emotional.

So why why why is it such a danged problem?!  Why is sleep not an autonomic mechanism like breathing?  Don’t think about it, just do it:

Oooo, I’m tired now.  Thunk.

Why are we biologically given the choice about how much and whether?

I have used silicone earplugs for years because my sleeper got broken years ago and I don’t know why.  It could be a result of my hypersensitivity, which is like living with no skin.  I feel everything.  I hear everything.  At night I don’t want to hear everything, but I do.  Sigh….

However…

4:30 a.m. Saturday, got up to get a drink of water.  Eyes closed, open medicine cabinet, grab glass, stick it under faucet, turn on cold water, drink.  Except there was no water in the glass.  Sleepy, must have missed the glass.  One more try.  Nope, no water there.

Shuffle into kitchen, vaguely wondering why I couldn’t get water from the bathroom sink.  Same dance number:  grab glass, put under faucet, fill glass, drink.  No water.

Aw crap, now I’m awake and really thirsty because I can’t have any water.  Shuffle back to bed, but lie there wondering how there could be no water.  Oh no, has a pipe burst?  Expensive homeowner plumbing game about to begin?  But it hasn’t been that cold.  Dang, I’m thirsty.  How could the pipes burst?  I unhooked all the garden hoses.  Dang, I’m thirsty.

4:50 a.m. sleeping is done and into the living room to get a fire going in the wood stove, our only source of heat. My hair was cold, so was my nose, so I knew it was too cold in the house.  Around 5:30, the Big Mister came streaking (ahem!) into the room and stood in front of the warm fire.

I gave him a moment, then asked about the water.   Apparently:

  1. In the deep of the night he got up to take aspirin for his headache.  Just a trickle of water at the bathroom sink.
  2. Heard a fan on in the kitchen, one of those fans we use in dead of summer that move air noisily.
  3. Checked kitchen.  No fan.  (Which would have been strange.  The whole “bad guy sneaks into the house and plugs in a fan he found in the garage attic” scenario just didn’t click, even at that hour.)
  4. Wandered around house listening.
  5. Went to the back yard to listen at the crawl space.  Nakey.  Brrr….
  6. Came back inside, put on warm clothes, socks, and shoes.  BuddyBoop followed him around, helping.
  7. Went back outside and shimmied under the deck, then squeezed himself into the crawl space under the house, approximately located under our bedroom.
  8.  Splashed through the “swimming pool in the basement” and found the water supply pipe spurting water.
  9. Went out to the frigid garage and retrieved tools.  BuddyBoop here, too.
  10. Went to the front yard way over at the street and lifted the water supply concrete lid and lay on the wetly cold ground to turn the water off to the house.  More BuddyBoop.
  11. Went to the breaker box in the side yard and turned off the switch for the water heater.  BuddyBoop.
  12. Came back in the house, dumped the clothes in the spare room, and went back to bed.

I slept through everything. 

Waaaaah, I’m sensitive.  Waaaaah, everything wakes me up.  My cred is dead.

The Big Mister fixed the problem later in the a.m. after having to go back into the crawl space to confirm the pipe size.  He got to buy SPECIAL TOOLS.   Happy guy.  Running water for the house again.

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 14:17:28

    Sounds like a nightmare! Bless your heart.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 14:21:36

      I thought so, too, but I missed everything horrid! It could have been terrible, but the Big Mister really came through for us. The bonus is that he has NEW TOOLS!

      Reply

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 08:14:04

    At least you have him…… If that had been my house, we would have all drowned because I am totally useless at fixing anything and would not have even known where or how to shut the water off :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 08:26:52

      >:-D I HAD to learn where to shut off the water in a hurry because a year+ ago I was ripping out a dishwasher and “noticed” that water was coming out of “somewhere.” Which turned into an “EGAD!” Run run run! Ack, we don’t have a thingie to shut off the water! Ack! Heavy concrete lid, too! I can’t, by myself, turn off the water with the pipe wrenches we have–too much torque for broken-me!

      Ah, happy homeownership (well, bankownership, but we like de Nile!).

      Reply

  3. minlit
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 02:02:36

    And the banksters are surely the crocodiles in de Nile.
    The best way to fall asleep is to do the breath concentration thing. Nothing knocks you out like having to concentrate!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 12:29:59

      wide maws and big teeth, that bunch of crocs! Ooo, croc(k)s o’ shit! Do you have that expression there–meaning a bunch of lies or unbelievable stuff?

      Yes, noticing the outbreath and the pause before the inhale. … I’m running pretty hard in my head these days–looking for a job (no comment) and designing mosaics, while thinking about grout color. Monkey-mind!

      And then, my 86 y.o. Mom–trying to design a ramp so she won’t feel terrified by the stairs to leave her house. She’s so frail….

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

