Proof that my brain got zapped some time along the way

I’ve been spending a lot of time out in the mosaics and concrete workshop, happily playing with thinset and tiles and daydreaming about the riches that will come my way as a mosaic artist.  (I’m approaching my second year of unwilling unemployment.)

I play music when I’m out there because it inspires me and it drowns out the sound of the buzz of those damn overhead flickering fluorescent tube lights.

Bob Dylan is my hero so I’m always listening to something of his.  The music player is an old tape player, which is convenient since I recorded a boatload of tapes off my record albums (LPs to you young’uns), which should tell you the vintage of the music–late 60s through early 80s.

Hard Rain by Bob Dylan

There I was listening to Bob wail about some lady he loved who hurt him and I had my “brain was reset sometime when I wasn’t looking” moment:

These rock-and-rollers sing about love!  About broken hearts and hopeful hearts.  It truly was news to me, brand new, and I revelled in the realization.

Then, I wondered, how come I didn’t always carry that knowledge with me since I’ve been listening to music since the 60s.   Why was this new?

Because my brain has been cleared of umpty-ump years of memories and new ones are there, wiping out the knowledge that was my foundation.  No wonder I’m confused these days.

You know what helps?  To walk around saying, in a slightly bemused, over-the-top-happy, sing-song voice:

Every day is a brand new day!

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 13:42:01

    Aliens? Rock’n’roll lovin’ aliens?

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

