The peace of a classical Chinese garden

For me, the Chinese garden inspires peace, which I need this morning.  Here are photos of this magnificent constructed space, very similar to gardens I have visited in Suzhou, China.  The spaces in this garden, as well as those China travels many moons ago are on my mind this morning.

Classic entry requires a slowing...

Ting (=pavilion) with a specific view

Classic elements: Ting (building), water, Tai Hu rocks

bridge, water, Tai Hu rocks--all hallmarks of classical design

every window with a different pattern

Stunning bark on the crabapple tree (Malus spp.)

To learn more or to plan a visit, go to Portland Classical Chinese Garden.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rkrichardson
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 09:42:47

    Love these garden images. Very serene!

    Reply

  2. minlit
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 09:46:30

    This reminds me of one I visited in Shanghai last year. I would like to like it, but I can’t find the button. Am I being dim?

    Reply

  3. lahgitana
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 09:54:53

    Hello you punster! No, you aren’t being dim–it’s a busy page. I see it right above those two black arrows directing to previous/next posts.

    What took you to Shanghai? I was there in 1981 and I’m sure it has changed enormously! The Portland Garden is modeled after a garden in Suzhou, so I’m sure the style is very similar to a Shanghai garden. ??

    Thank you for coming by!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

