Cartooning and coloring

I’m slow, but steady:  finished the mosaic cartoon, then made myself a cheat-sheet of the colors to order:

I’m planning to take a 5-day mosaics class in Ravenna, Italy when I take my month-long trip next February.  Since I’ve been booted out of the job market, because of my age (age-ism!!!!%$@), I’ve been casting around for other money-making ways.  Our culture is set up for 9-5ers, but I have always chafed at being squoze into that pigeonhole.  Even in my 20s a friend remarked, “But you’ve never wanted to work full time.”

Good thing, that, because with my weird proclivity for getting tired easily, I cannot work full time on someone else’s schedule.

Mosaics could be It.  I remember now how I got into concrete sculpture–I wanted to do outdoor mosaics!  So, got distracted by learning how to create my own dang substrates upon which to embed said mosaics.

(Aside:  getting distracted like this is something the Big Mister and I call a “moose muffin.”  It’s not what you think, partly because they produce tootsie rolls and not muffins.  There is a lovely children’s book called If You Give a Moose a Muffin, that splains what happens if you start with one thing with a moose….  And of course, having lived around mooses for many years in Alaska, I am particularly fond of the vision of giving a moose a muffin and other stuff!)

Ahem.  Mosaics.   Yes, there I was.  (There’s a dance that goes with that trying to remember where I was.  I’ve been told that I resemble Eddie Izzard the fabulous comedian/commentator when he dances around trying to remember where he was!)  Any-way, mosaics have been an art form for at least a kajillion years and probably served as wayfinders before that.

I like rocks.  Stones.  Tiles.

Thanks, Mom, for believing in me yet again!

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 10:48:33

    Can’t wait to read what you write while you’re in Europe. Amazing! Have a great time.

    Reply

  2. lahgitana
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:27:18

    Thank you! It seems so far away, February does, but it will be here fast!

    How the heck will I write regularly while I’m abroad? Pretty sure I don’t want to haul my computer around and have to be concerned about it all the danged time!

    It would be too, too embarrassing to be in a place I’ve ached to be in and spend my time in internet cafes, emailing stories to myself! >:-D

    Reply

  3. schlurpytalkin
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 22:28:48

    You most definitely will be posting while in Italy. You can take a moment a day to share because your trip will be amazing and your blog will serve as a wonderfully vibrant and immediate journal of your experiences. Besides, I need to be entertained and it’s all about me damnit! Now dance for me Ms. Izzard! Dance you mad mad bitch!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 16, 2011 @ 08:34:36

      Maybe if I dance a little, the internet cafes will charge me less. >:-D

      You are right, Mrs. Ploppy, about the blog being an immediate journal. I may have to carry a paper journal because I won’t be at the electronic version as much as my brain might demand.

      la la la

      Reply

  4. IsobelandCat
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 12:17:33

    I do mosaics too!
    Some of my group went to Ravenna a few years ago. I couldn’t go, but the photos they brought back were amazing. I have them on a CD. Maybe I’ll share a few on my page.
    I wouldn’t plan on making a living from it tho’! It’s slow art, and people don’t want to pay for the time it takes..

    Reply

  5. IsobelandCat
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 12:26:30

    It was organised by one of the group who worked in the travel business. Our mosaics teacher, who trained as a painter then spent eight years learning mosaics in Italy, went too.

    Reply

  6. minlit
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 11:04:39

    1. Anyone who’s been compared to Eddie Izzard has to be ok.
    2. You can wordpress from a smartphone. I have it on my iphone, but I spend 104% of my time at my desk, so I never have call to use it!
    3. If in Ireland, let me know!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 20:06:29

      1. Thank you! Stab, dance, swing eyes back and forth looking lost. “I’m covered in bees! I’m covered in bees!”
      2. Oooo, I have an unused smartphone: I wonder if it would work in Europe.
      3. Thank you–Ireland has been on my list for a very long time. Right back atcha–if you find your self in the Northwest US for some odd reason…

      Reply

  7. Trackback: my doggie, Iskander « Rockin' the Purple!

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

