Back at work…

Working for only a few days and it’s as if I never left.  It truly was a great place to work.  A few more hours after the Labor Day hollow-day, then it’s back to pure unemployment.

However, Dear Universe, I’d like to make $$$ doing creative stuff with my hands–how about a concrete sculpture or a mosaic bowl?

I’ve got that attitude in full charge about trying what I want to try and not listening to the experts who tell me to start small.  I could be making a mosaic coaster, but no-o-o-o-o-o-o-o!  I wanna make a bowl!  I’ve already cast said bowl, 15 inches in diameter-ish.  Finishing the “cartoon,” which is the color sketch/plan/rendering of the design that will be created in mosaics.

I’m happy that these particular renderings are called cartoons!  I love cartoons!  Rocky and Bullwinkle; Yogi Bear; The Jetsons!  On and on.

Back to the cartooning.

 

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 17:51:29

    Get crafting, girl!

    Reply

  2. lahgitana
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 19:41:29

    I am! Thanks! I’m almost grateful that the economy is so horrible here!

    Hope your workweek had fewer Important People Who Must Be Obeyed!

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 17:13:02

    Ha! Yes much fewer I have a few days off. So why shouldn’t I ever bring a resume to an interview, you mentioned that on my blog, the How is too Old to Intern post. Just updating resume now. Oh and should I bother to put References available upon request on there?

    Reply

  4. lahgitana
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 17:27:42

    Hi! I was talking about informational interviews where you ask folks questions about their jobs–how did they get there? school? challenges? likes/dislikes? (I have a whole chapter in my head if you’d like more info about info interviews. I have a template of questions I’d be happy to share…. At first it seems hard to figure out what to ask, but it gets easier as I relax and just ask whateverthehell I want to! Courteously, of course!)

    So, it’s truly just asking for information as one does career research (or synonym thereof). This ties into the nonthreatening attitude: “Hi. I just want info. I won’t be pressuring you for a job. Exploring career options and paths.”

    Then, the subject is more relaxed and knows you don’t want anything. And you’re more relaxed because you don’t have to wear that damned-heavy Interview Hat.

    But I’m tellin’ you, the grandest things happen when we get to talk to people who are doing things (for $$) that we wonder if we’d like. More: you get to ask: “Who else should I talk to since I’m interested in XYZ?” It’s amazing! It leads to more and more people. Maybe like a Pyramid Scheme but legal, fun, and risk-free!

    And, I stopped hating and dreading the job hunt because I was meeting with interesting people, seeing the insides of their offices, and just letting my mind go free with wondering and exploring. Still counts as job hunt, but so much more rewarding, especially in this economy when submitted resumes and apps are routinely ignored!

    For regular job hunting, I was thinking about that Refs part too, but decided that it takes up space–if they really want to know more, they will ask me for Refs. I keep a separate sheet to hand them with all the appropriate (tailored to the job) refs listed. I do bring a resume to a regular interview, just NOT the informational interview.

    Oops, did I just fill the Comments section?! >:-D

    –Laurel

    Reply

  5. Sharon
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 04:55:34

    That is perfect. Just what I was thinking, for the infomation one, no resume, no way. It would awkward. Very exciting being on the job hunt. Trying to make a resume that stands out without trying too hard. This is awesome advice.

    Reply

  6. lahgitana
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 07:29:42

    I often wonder how far I can push an eye-catching resume. Then I realized that the person who sees it may respond to the unusual and that’s who I’d want to work with!

    So, for the garden design resume, the bold italic headline is: “Mom says her daughter ought to be a garden designer!”

    WTH. Nothing to lose… and showing a hint of our true selves must be a relief to the folks whose eyes are glazed over reading the same stale headlines…. !! (Getting older is great, I’m tellin’ you!)

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

