Where do you write?

Is it a place that inspires you?  Is it wherever you happen to be?

Here’s where I write most frequently:

not really--no room here

Once upon a time, My Peeps at work gave me a tiny keychain sock monkey for my birthday.  With a twisted twist:  they had tied his arms together and blindfolded him and left an honest-to-god ransom-style note propped on my office chair, complete with letters cut out from magazines(!), saying:  “Have a happy birthday or the sock monkey gets it!”  (I need to scan that, huh?)

Pee-Wee Herman speaks for himself.  Literally.  He has a pull-cord.  I also have a tiny Chairy.

two sitting places the cats haven't stolen

One of the times we were broke, we found that red-checked chair at a yard sale for very little $$$.  I try to ignore the kid-spit-up and just remember that it’s comfy and I can lounge with my legs thrown over the arms!  The rocker came from one of the times I had $$–it was the second grown up sitting device I bought.

have to wrestle the cats for this one sometimes

recovered those kinda old chairs (maybe 90 years?) just in time to be adopted by Cosmo, who is a very long-haired, sheddy kind of kitty.

ah, my outdoor sanctuary under the pergola

the fountain bubbles… the birds go tweet-tweet-tweet, and the breeze moves the hanging walls…

The atelier, which is in a corner of a huge and messy garage.

Kind of cracks me up, using the word “atelier” to describe my workshop because from the Middle French origins, it means woodpile!  Also, I expect an atelier to be light-filled with tall ceilings!  We do have the tall ceilings!

(This writing thing is exactly why there is no time in the day.  It ain’t my fault!)

If you have time, show-and-tell me where you write!

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 19:16:24

    I don’t have a working camera but I’ll tell you that when I’m too lazy to take my laptop to my desk/dining table, I write on the edge of my bed. Haven’t officially set up a desk. I procrastinate.

    Reply

  2. lahgitana
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 20:10:59

    <:-D
    I prefer any place besides sitting upright. I have numerous back injuries and other athletic-related insults that give me grief, so sitting is always a pain, but especially upright! I slouch a lot, but I rarely let my Mom see me do that!
    (Procrastination?! Yee-hah! Tho' today I set and met 3 goals: go to the pool, work on a particular mosaic design, and pretend to look for work. [Do I need to es-plain that it isn't really pretending, it's just that it's so dang empty out there!?])

    Reply

  3. heretherebespiders
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 12:21:27

    Oh dear god, you would laugh and laugh. I wrote over 50K words while sitting on a toilet. Just sitting, not using it for its intended function. It is outside, in our tiny detached concrete shed that is also home to the washer & dryer and everything else that I dont want in the attic. Currently I sit on two very flattened pillows in front of the fireplace, because I’m (self-imposed) only allowed to smoke in the house if it goes up the chimney.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

