heat wave

We’re still in the heat for another day or so.  Around 90°F (32°C) today again.   Early this morning I walked through our fairly shaded neighborhood to a post box and noticed that the breeze was coming from the west, which is good news.

Over the last few days, any wind was coming from the south, as in Desert Southwest, where the hot air has been parked.  When the wind comes from the west, it means the air is coming from the ocean currents, bringing cooler air, instead of the hot air from the overheated interior land mass.

Desert Southwest:  that's HOT!

Desert Southwest: that’s HOT! (46°C)

Yaaaay.  Subdued I am by the heat and by the efforts to keep the house cool.  I was never meant to live in the heat, but my years in Tucson taught me how to manipulate air currents, curtains, sun blocks, fans, and swamp coolers.    (And, of course, now I have my portable air conditioner.  Thanks, Ma!)

It always helped that I was outdoors despite the 100-deg heat.   Often in the 9,000-ft mountains above Tucson, tootling up the switchback road in the red 1965 VW convertible Bug, always getting a vapor lock after we’d hit some cool elevation.  <:-D

gigantic red sunflower

gigantic red sunflower

One October, I moved directly from Tucson to Anchorage, and as I paused at the top of the mobile stairway parked next to the plane, seeing the mountains and ocean that surrounded the city, I knew soul-deep I had come home.   True that I panicked slightly at the 45°F (7°C) temp that greeted me.

That winter I learned about cold, with a stretch of two weeks of -20°F (-28°C).  I brought with me the love and need to be outdoors and discovered that I loved to be outdoors in the cold:  camping, skiing, mountaineering.  I will always know how to live in the cold with little thought or strained effort.

my happy Alaska place at my dresser

my happy Alaska place at my dresser

happy in the mountains at 10°F!  A Raven friend.

happy in the mountains at 10°F! A Raven friend.

 

 

 

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nadbugs
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 12:17:06

    UR such a cutie! In that little chapeau! Ten degrees. Not for me. I’m a weather-wuss. I need 75 F. and low humidity. Why do I live in Arkansas? You tell me. Although that is what we have today. And I feel like I’m in heaven. Tirrah sweetie. Back to books.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 01, 2013 @ 12:31:08

      heehee! my chapeau!

      I’ve wondered about Arkansas: high humidity, heat waves, tornadoes, lightning, and er, what else…drifting snow !! <:-D So pleased you're getting some nice weather. Easier to study, huh, when it's not 900 degrees at your table!

      Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 16:19:05

    I’m with you, Laurel. I can almost always handle the cold. Pretty much prefer it. Here in Cuenca, we have a happy medium–high of around 70 every day and low around 50–all year round–because of the elevation and being only 200 miles below the equator.
    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 01, 2013 @ 17:03:08

      Yup, there are only so many clothes to take off to try to cool.

      I bet you have mostly clear skies; what a mood-boost!

      So happy you’re here again, Kathy. I’ve missed you.

      Reply

  3. Pix Under the Oaks
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 05:07:41

    I am definitely with you Laurel on the heat! Can’t do it no more. I remember when we lived in El Paso, Texas with 100+ temps every ding dang day in the summer and I was in my riding breeches with field boots riding in the hot sun. I don’t want any humidity either but we have it here in MissouREE. Our Best Man from our wedding lives in Anchorage. I know it is beautiful there but I don’t think I could do that either. I would like Missouri’s Fall weather 24/7, yes I would! I can so see you in that red Beetle! I had a turquoise Beetle probably very close to that year.. :)

    I LOVE that sunflower shot as you know!!! ONLY bigified really BIG!!!!

    Hope you cool down soon. We are having Fall weather now and I am in heaven!

    Man I is chatty this morning.. :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 02, 2013 @ 07:17:26

      A lot of us have trouble in the heat. Too bad about climate change, huh?! arrrggggh! I can almost hear panic in your voice as you describe that El Paso heat. Or am I projecting?!

      Yaaay you are getting the fall weather you asked for just last week! >:-D

      Keep on chatting–love it!

      Reply

  4. 10000hourstobe
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 07:00:22

    I, too, love the BIG, beautiful, perfect sunflower. It was interesting to have so much rain here in Washington the past several weeks–I didn’t mind it at all. I think summer rain is one of my favorite smells. Now with the sun and heat, I’m grateful I live here and not in Phoenix (smile).

    Smart hat, pink hair, fabulous shoes–I love your style, girl.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 02, 2013 @ 07:20:58

      Hi You! Pleased as punch that you’re able to come up for air and visit.

      I didn’t mind the rain either, actually rather enjoyed it. And when it was stormy and windy… !! You’re so right about the smell of summer rains. Hope you have stayed cool up there on the hill.

      heehee! “Smart hat, pink hair, fabulous shoes” — I’ll keep that in my head!

      Reply

  5. IsobelandCat
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 07:56:16

    I like temperate climates, not too hot, not too cold. Extremes take my energy away..

    Reply

  6. jacquiefioramonti
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 11:22:49

    -28 for two weeks – get me outta that place! After ‘they’ predicted the coldest June and July we’ve ever had, we’re having a such a mild winter that it feels like a warm autumn. It is 8.20pm here and I am in summer pyjamas with a light cardigan on. Our summers here on the Highveld are usually quite pleasant – 32C would be a heat wave here too – unlike down in KZN where the heat and humidity combined can be quite unbearable. You’re looking well and happy – and sounding very chirpy – I love it! :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 02, 2013 @ 11:35:01

      Hi Jacquie! It WAS cold and happened every year just like that! >:-D

      But your winter sounds odd–summer pjs?! Where is KZN? Off the Highveld?

      Jacquie, I am *finally* improving, not just living from bad moment to bad moment. Glad it shows!

      Reply

      • jacquiefioramonti
        Jul 02, 2013 @ 11:37:22

        It really does show and I am so, so happy to hear it. I have just been admiring your artwork and am so impressed. KZN is the province of KwaZulu Natal – Durban, its capital is on the east coast, about six hours drive from here – a very popular holiday destination.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jul 02, 2013 @ 11:47:32

          Thanks so much, Jacquie. Your cheerleading over the last year-plus has meant a lot to me and my slim hold on sanity.

          Thank you for kind words about the artwork. A rather fun bonus from a horrible mess.

          KwaZulu Natal is perhaps popular for the cooling effects of the coast, despite the hot humidity?

          Reply

  7. heretherebespiders
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 12:52:34

    I’d like a bit of heat right now. Maybe I’ll get yours in a week or so? I’m outside now, but in sweats and shoes (eww) and waiting until the damn midges drive me inside. My sunflowers are at the most 1.5 feet tall! Sigh. But I also hate the moist heat.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 02, 2013 @ 12:55:39

      Maybe, but I hear the ridge of high pressure may not disintegrate for another week or so…

      Are you still at home, girl?

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Jul 02, 2013 @ 13:00:43

        Yesssss – but with no legal reason to be at home. My GP is off on holiday and no ‘prescription’ was left for me to be off work. So, um, I just said I’m not going! I’ll have to ring them tomorrow and see the lay of the land, as my Monday email has gone unanswered. Fun.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jul 02, 2013 @ 13:05:04

          That’s stressful, girl.

          I am deeply pleased that you are taking the time you need. I know another blogger who needed time, but was agonizing over taking it. Now, though she is taking life at the pace she needs and sounds much better. Like you. Gotta make room in the brain sometimes or it ‘splodes! just sayin’!

          Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            Jul 02, 2013 @ 13:10:58

            I had to – sorry to say it, but true – get too close to leaving life altogether before I asked for help. I don’t know if I’m past that point – I enjoy what I’m doing now, but the feelings of guilt are still strong and the bad thoughts are creeping back in, at the idea that I have to go back to a 9-5.

            Reply

            • lahgitana
              Jul 02, 2013 @ 14:11:16

              The irony is that when we feel so terrible, we can’t sort through our thoughts too well, but we really want to. Horrible, I know. Keenly and deeply. For me, thank you for choosing life and risking the hard stuff that comes along with it.

              If you possibly can, find out whose voice that is: the guilt and the bad thoughts. Once you find that out, I believe it is easier to make ‘em stop because we cognitively know the voice is not ours and so does not apply to us. I’ve found it to be quite painful to discover the source, but afterward I was able to separate that voice from my own.

              One way to do this: think of the uncountable times you have propped me up with your loving voice or your art or your humor. THAT is your voice, my dear. That loving voice is YOURS. Now aim it at yourself and shove with pointy elbows hard at any other voices.

              You can always email, dear girl. Sometimes just need a pressure-relief valve….

            • heretherebespiders
              Jul 02, 2013 @ 14:17:26

              Dammit, I still can’t find you on Skype. Sigh.

            • lahgitana
              Jul 02, 2013 @ 15:17:29

              I’ll send Me via Skype. Whatchoo doin’ tomorrow?! Me, you ask? Oh, I’ll be at home… !! <:-D

        • lahgitana
          Jul 02, 2013 @ 14:12:24

          PS. Legal-schmegal.

          Reply

  8. Linda
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 08:03:50

    I remember that old VW and helping it get up that switchback road :-). A couple other things I remember is skipping school and climbing down from Windy Point, hitching a ride back to the car. I almost forgot about the time we were walking through the woods in the snow above the little village up there and ended up past Marshall’s Gulch….almost got lost that time. Good times with a good friend. I sure do miss that.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 30, 2013 @ 08:00:06

      I’d forgotten about the skipping school part! <:-D Hi you! I've been thinking about you and the great change, courtesy Big Business, and hoping that all is OK. I'm sorry I've missed this comment for so long–I actually worked and have been recovering for 10+ days–a bad time all around. Love to you…

      Reply

  9. Linda
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 23:58:00

    I don’t know if it is a great change but a big change yes. First job didn’t work out so well for me but started another one last week and feel much better about it. I sure would like to retire though and be the house Frau :-) I did that for about a month and really enjoyed it…weird isn’t it.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

