Day’s End

Day’s End:  a companion piece to the Sunrise monoprint collage.

Day’s End
16×20-inch canvas (40×50 cm)

here is Sunrise once more:

Sunrise:  monoprints with acrylic paint

Sunrise
16×20-inch canvas (40×50 cm)

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nadbugs
    May 30, 2013 @ 09:37:21

    Beautiful, both.

    Reply

  2. speccy
    May 31, 2013 @ 01:42:07

    These are great- really evocative. You are very talented!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 31, 2013 @ 07:46:43

      thank you Speccy. I’ll have to write about my “unintentional life” some time–just operating on instinct. That’s where these things, and all the recent art, have come from. The lesson, of course, is to just DO.

      Reply

  3. Jude
    May 31, 2013 @ 03:29:46

    Just beautiful! I’m sure you could sell these. And when you become famous and sought after I shall smile and say ‘Oh she’s a friend of mine’!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 31, 2013 @ 07:53:23

      I’m grinning rather stupidly and can’t think of anything to say to your fun comment! I shall say it in return, believe me!

      I do hope I can sell them, Jude. Life would be best for all if I could earn my living as an artist! <:-O My artist friend who got me going in this medium says she'll help me get them shown at the local (giant) Fair. If they are accepted, they can be purchased!

      For now, I've promised my Mom she can have Sunrise. If I can get it varnished–have to learn about *that* too– she'll have it!

      Reply

  4. FeyGirl
    May 31, 2013 @ 04:59:13

    Stunnning!! I love the fact that they’re companion sunrise / sunset pieces, too… :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 31, 2013 @ 07:48:29

      The second one showed up the way it wanted to–I looked at the colors of Sunrise, but apparently the second one was going to have its own darn personality! >:-D So, I too am very pleased they became companion pieces! Never know what’s gonna happen!

      Thank you FG!

      Reply

  5. Pix Under the Oaks
    May 31, 2013 @ 08:43:45

    I like them both very much. I like Day’s End just a nudge better. Maybe because I am a Day’s End kinda person.. :)

    Reply

  6. 10000hourstobe
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 21:19:30

    I was just thinking of the fair today…(great minds). I love Day’s End. The grays and black are such a great contrast to the blues and greens. There is so much to look at, too. If you had a small one that you can experiment using gels and varnish on that would be a way to figure out how to finish these pieces to their best advantage without putting either of these at risk. Would a matte finish look good, which may blur the edges, or a medium or thick gloss that will soften the three dimensionality, or just a straight varnish? Do you need a layer of gel to stabilize the pieces more? Of course, one can always just close our eyes and jump in (smile). I’ve missed talking art with my friend.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 02, 2013 @ 07:09:08

      Oh how I’ve missed you, but had to let you settle into the new “experience”! Which I am *dying* to hear about, girl!

      Funny you should talk about the varnishing, etc. this way. I *just* found out –in time!!– about the isolation coat (bought the gloss gel *yesterday*!!!). See Will Kemp’s excellent and intelligible discussions.

      I had just decided also to make some smaller pieces because I really enjoyed making these and thought small pieces could be interesting to construct (and view)!

      And, what a great place to experiment with varnish–I have satin because it really appeals to me *in theory* for these pieces, but what better way to know for sure?!

      Ahem: when are we gonna talk art?! >:-D

      My head fairly throbs with learning how to sign, seal, and varnish. Three little words with worlds of experience behind them. Thank you for yet another learning experience!

      Hey Everybody–this is the artist who got me started in this medium! Wave and take a bow, my friend!

      Reply

  7. IsobelandCat
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 12:45:50

    Both of these are stunning. WordPress had unsubscribed me from you page and I didn’t now. Then li and behold, they suggested you as someone I might like to follow! So here I am again. :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 03, 2013 @ 13:16:27

      Well, then, isn’t WP, er, smart! ?!

      Glad to have you subscribe, Isobel! hee hee! That explains the notification earlier that you had followed. Every time WP acts weird, they’re getting ready to launch something “improved” for our pleasure! arrrrgggh!

      Oh! Thank you for the kind words about the art. >:-O

      Reply

  8. dweinberg415
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 09:23:46

    These are great pieces! I took a monoprint class last semester and struggled…I have way more bad prints that I don’t know what to do with than good ones. Thanks for the idea to collage them.

    Reply

  9. Dianda
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 12:03:21

    Oh woah! That’s so pretty!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 07, 2013 @ 12:06:55

      Thanks, Dianda!

      You seem to have some time to play–did you finish school?!

      Reply

      • Dianda
        Jun 07, 2013 @ 12:19:56

        Nope! I have my exam from German on June the 20th! Nervous as hell, still needs lot to practice and stufy. But my inbox was getting to full. :(

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jun 07, 2013 @ 12:22:43

          two more weeks then you get to pack for France! yaaaaay! hope the German has gotten manageable, Dianda.

          Reply

          • Dianda
            Jun 07, 2013 @ 12:29:40

            Yes! Can’t wait for France. :D
            My German is so bad, they even made fun of it at work. :/ Someone who never had German class before could speak it better than me. Ugh.

            Reply

            • lahgitana
              Jun 07, 2013 @ 12:35:52

              rats–I’d hoped something would change for you. good luck with the exam. You know what will happen? On your France trip, you’ll meet a German person and find yourself speaking just fine! The heck with the class!

  10. minlit
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 09:25:19

    Etsy time, methinks! Find a nice local printer who will do a short run onto uncoated stock and hey-presto! Limited edition. Sign me up!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

