chocolate gingerbread

Happy Sunday (breakfast?!)!

A little quick baking late yesterday–a very easy chocolate gingerbread cake.  Spicy, chocolatey aroma, and not overly sweet.

chocolate gingerbread

chocolate gingerbread

Chocolate Gingerbread Cake

(adapted from Bon Appetit Magazine – December 2008)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Prepare bundt pan–nonstick spray or butter and flour.  (With a dark cake, I prefer to dust the buttered pan with unsweetened cocoa powder, so the light-colored flour doesn’t mar the appearance of the crust.)

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup hot coffee
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1-1/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking soda

3 large eggs
1/2 cup dark molasses

2 cups all purpose flour (10 oz) (I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1-1/2 c white.)

*powdered sugar for dusting

In a small bowl, stir coffee and cocoa powder until smooth – set aside.

Cream butter, oil, and sugar until it is nice, white, and fluffy (it should look like whipped cream) for 3 minutes using a mixer.

Add ginger, cloves, salt, cinnamon, and baking soda.

Add eggs and molasses – mixing for a minute.

Finally add flour and coffee/chocolate mixture and beat for a few minutes.

Scrape batter from all sides including the bottom and mix again for another minute.

Pour batter into a bundt pan.

Bake for 60 minutes.  Allow cake to cool for 8 minutes before shaking the sides loose and inverting it onto a cake plate.

Dust cake with powdered sugar.

____________

I think we’re sposta let the cake cool, but we didn’t!  Sliced it with a bread knife.  It was wonderful hot and the rest of the cake didn’t fall apart!

_______________________________

Also, I was not careful in my attribution, so one thousand apologies to the original source.  We know it’s from Bon Appetit, but I don’t know who adapted it!  Surely, I shall now go to publications hell.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    May 26, 2013 @ 12:06:56

    Oh, wow, it looks delicious! I’m going to save the recipe for an inspired day in the kitchen. I love cooking. I can already anticipate the sweet aroma of this mix of cinamon, cloves, ginger…. yum! LOL
    Is this the diversity you were talking about? I’m lovin’ it! ;-)
    Plus I don’t think you’re going to publications hell… maybe only limbo? :D

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 26, 2013 @ 13:02:44

      It’s really lovely, Ivy–do tell when you make it–a completely unrelated note on some post somewhere, yes?! And can you imagine how good the whole house smells?!

      Yep, this is something else I am–a baker. >:-D

      I’m quite unused to not being detailed about attribution, but apparently it didn’t bother me enough to not post! hee hee!

      Reply

      • ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
        May 26, 2013 @ 13:48:46

        It’s a deal — when I make it, I’ll let you know. :-) Down here in Brazil, it’s fall and winter is coming up. This smell will be filling my house during one of those cold days, rest assured.
        So we have this in commom – we’re bakers! Here’s to this wonderful invention – the oven.
        I’m smiling and laughing at your reply, thanks for the sharing of joy. Hugs to you!

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          May 26, 2013 @ 15:18:06

          It’s PERFECT for a fall day! Our weather is cool and rainy, quite unexpected because often we’re in the 80s in May (ick!)

          So happy (and smiley!) that you stopped in, Ivy!

          Reply

  2. IsobelandCat
    May 27, 2013 @ 04:34:41

    Looks sinfully delicious. I shall have to come back, convert cups to ounces or grammes and give it a go!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 27, 2013 @ 07:28:26

      It’s less sinful and more delicious–it’s really easy, too. It took a bit longer for me because I had to stop and grind the cinnamon sticks. Please let me know what you think or if you changed anything, Isobel.

      Reply

  3. Pix Under the Oaks
    May 27, 2013 @ 05:42:07

    It looks wonderful! I just want someBODY else to cook it for me.. :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 27, 2013 @ 07:29:14

      If you printed it out, would someBODY happen to see the recipe on the kitchen counter, say, next to the KitchenAid!? <:-D

      Reply

      • Pix Under the Oaks
        May 27, 2013 @ 07:35:22

        Yes, I think that would be very possible. Although someBODY is a bread baker and not so much a cake baker. I really am the cake and cupcake baker. I love bundt cakes. I wonder if it is the bundt shape that contributes to the better taste. You know, like different pastas have different tastes. My Mom used to make the best buttery pound cake in the form of a bundt. Man, you can tell FOOD is on my mind today!

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          May 27, 2013 @ 07:39:14

          never thought of the pan making a different taste! hee hee! No matter. Big Mister tells me it was perfect this morning with a pile of whipped cream and a cup of coffee.

          let me know what happens, will you?!

          (PS. I keep laughing about you/us talking about undies out here in front of god and everyone! hahahahaha! So much for being private people…..)

          Reply

  4. Pix Under the Oaks
    May 27, 2013 @ 07:44:21

    I KNOW! I don’t know what came over me. I was so excited over them. I hadn’t even had wine to make me all giddy! I wouldn’t talk to just anybody about my undieswears.. :)

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

